When Bitcoin/Crypto and Relationships Collide

Crypto with Lorenzo
7 min readJan 22, 2024
Image by microstocks at Freepik

Non-members can read the full story here.

“I bought 6 BTC years ago when the prices were really low.”

Who would tell you this on a first date? Well, this woman did just that to me.

For context, we touched on investments before our date, and I mentioned that I also hold crypto, amongst other things.

It’s one thing to say that you hold a “small amount” of crypto as part of my portfolio, which is what I did.

But telling someone you own 6 BTC? Now that’s making a statement.

At this point, a few things come to mind. They:

1) are flexing
2) want you to feel insecure/jealous
3) believe that they’re “good” with money or smart
4) are bluffing (unlikely, but still possible)

Making a significant windfall from BTC/crypto doesn’t necessarily make you good with money. Yes, you’ve done well financially from this, and it will boost your happiness, even just temporarily.

Whether this involves $500K cars, private jets, white powder, befriending red-pill gurus and (OF) ladies of the night, that’s up to you, but I do not condone these things, FYI.

However, what does matter is reinvesting the majority of the wealth where you can (eventually) live comfortably off the interest earned

--

--